Home is where the heat is.

Canberra’s hottest summer exhibition.

Canberra Glassworks in 2017 marks its 10 year anniversary. To mark this the Glassworks invited studio artists, hirers, tutors, staff and volunteers both past and present to propose site specific or Canberra Glasswork related work.

This resulted in the Home is where the heat is exhibition. A response of the artists and practitioners to the Glassworks building.

cgw_ex_hiwthi_page-768x339

The Kingston Power House, built between 1913 and 1915 was designed by the Federal Government architect, J S Murdoch. Murdoch also designed other important heritage buildings in Canberra such as Old Parliament House and its East and West Blocks, Gorman House, the Hotel Canberra (now the Hyatt) and the Kurrajong Hotel. Originally only intended to be a temporary structure, the Power House was used to supply Canberra with coal‐generated electricity from 1915, continuing to operate as a powerhouse until 1957.

The construction of the Canberra Glassworks inside the existing fabric of the Kingston Power House has carefully preserved the heritage values of this iconic Canberra building. Many of the original finishes and fittings remain to give visitors a glimpse into the past life of the building.

Artists including Simon Maberley, Sophia Emmett and Ngaio Fitzpatrick, have responded to  environmental issues including the continued supply of coal powered electricity. While artists like Jenni Kemarre Martiniello have made work based on the original grasses of the site when it was inhabited by First Peoples. Another artist, John White has created a glass straw bale that speaks to the previous farming use of the current site.

The entire building has been opened to exhibiting artworks including historic niches throughout; the Engine Room which houses over 20 kilns and coldworking equipment; the hotshop; the tunnel, main galleries and foyer space. As well as artists working in glass, this exhibition includes works by sculptors; photographers; draughtspeople and printmakers.

Curated by Jane Cush the exhibition runs to January 14th 2018.

More information can be found here.